salsa with a kick ! ! ! {aka: cumin salsa}

What’s your favorite kind of salsa? Mine? Oh . . . Well, let me just tell you! It must be perfect. Lots of freshness, a whole lot of heat, love your cilantro, and adore onion breath. Salsa is amazing, if it’s perfect.

IMG_3644 - salsa 

Of course, my favorite kind of salsa isn’t really salsa at all! It’s actually called “pico de gallo”. In other words, all of the ingredients are fresh and it requires a lot of chopping. It’s time consuming.

That’s when I met Pioneer Woman and she introduced me to literal “salsa” that is mostly from the can . . . and still tastes extremely fresh. Oh, and it’s really fast to make and inexpensive ’cause it makes probably about five cups of the heavenly stuff. It’s alright, because I eat it with a spoon. I am not kidding. No, seriously! Some people say these things, but you honestly think they’re NOT serious. DEAD WRONG, MAN. That is, with me at this particular moment. I DO EAT THIS WITH A SPOON. The end.

IMG_3638 - salsa

Okay, enough about honesty; back to salsa! Pioneer woman also introduced me to a different kind of salsa: chipotle salsa. It’s basically the same recipe with added cumin. Oh, and it is RRRRREEEAAAAALLLLYYYY good. Really good.

Oh, and put it in a salsa container, such as Trader Joe’s. My dad didn’t believe me when I said I made the salsa myself.

IMG_3643 - slsa

SALSA WITH A KICK! {AKA: CUMIN SALSA}

TWEAKED FROM THE ORIGINAL: Ree Drummond’s cookbook A Year of Holidays

Why You Dig For Another Chip:

1 {28 oz.} can diced tomatoes

2 {6 oz.} cans green chiles

1 onion, diced

1 bunch cilantro, stems removed

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground pepper

1 tsp. sugar

1/4 c. lemon juice, or more to taste and/or for consistency

How To Dig For Another Chip Properly:

1. Blend all of the ingredients together in a LARGE blender {This makes five cups, you know!} until it is thoroughly mixed and you have the chunkiness that you like in your salsa.

2. Taste and adjust the seasonings according to your preference. Keep tasting until you’ve licked the bowl clean. And make another batch, because you forgot to serve it with chips.

 

One thought on “salsa with a kick ! ! ! {aka: cumin salsa}

leave some love!

