Light & airy lemon cookies for Paris and tea-time

I love lemons. They are almost an addiction with me. Everything that I make, whether that be a loaf of bread or some PB&J’s (no, not really), has to have lemon something in it – there HAS to be lemon in it.

IMG_3223 - lemon cookies 

Lemons seemed to hit the spot one day so I made a batch of lemon cookies . . . from scratch. I had no idea what I was doing (Well . . . maybe I did; otherwise, I wouldn’t have started.) and it didn’t turn out too bad in the end.

The result wes a very light and airy cookie that was crisp and delicate. When I think of these cookies, I think of tea time and Paris and Britian accents. It all is very, very good.

I don’t know what I was thinking of when I took this photo, but it is interesting and fun . . . I think. If you’re wondering what exactly it is, let me tell you: it’s lemon cookies sitting in foil. Umm . . . Yeah. Let’s just put it that I was experimenting. 🙂

IMG_3220 - lemon cookies

PARIS’ TEA TIME LEMON COOKIES

Why You Go “Mmm . . .” :

For the cookies

1 c. butter, softened

1 c. white sugar, plus more for rolling

2 eggs

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbsp. lemon extract

1 1/2 c. flour

For the icing

2 c. powdered sugar

Dash salt

1/4 c. lemon juice (more or less, according to your consistency preference)

How To Consume Properly:

1. In a mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs, salt, baking soda, and lemon extract until thoroughly combined. Add one cup of flour and keep adding tablespoon-fuls at a time until it is thick.

2. Take tablespoon-fuls of cookie dough and roll in sugar. Place on a greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, or until set. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

3. While the cookies are cooling, make the icing by whisking the powdered sugar, salt, and lemon juice until it’s thoroughly mixed and you’ve reached your desired consistency. Drizzle on cooled cookies.

4. Totally love and devour your lemon cookies by serve them with tea in Paris and with a British accent.

One thought on “Light & airy lemon cookies for Paris and tea-time

leave some love!

