raspberry thumbprint cookies

I love Christmas cookies. I love New Year cookies. I love after the twelve-days-of-Christmas cookies. I love cookies that are meant for Christmas, but are so good that we eat them all year. This cookie is one of those cookies.

 IMG_2794 - raspberry thumbprint cookie

Raspberry thumbprint cookies are very pretty, so yummy, and surprisingly reasonably easy. Although they need to chill before baking them, these buttery cookies are worth it. They are my favorite cookie that has ever been mixed, beaten, baked, and eaten.

These cookies are supposed to be iced, but we love their simplicity in themselves. It’s also less prep that way. Oh, and less dishes to wash, which means more time to eat. I love these cookies.

IMG_2799 - raspberry thumbprint cookie

Oh, and I almost forgot to tell you that these cookies aren’t just yummy because of the butter and sugar and raspberry. Nope, it’s because of the almond. I love almond flavoring. I think I could drink the entire bottle. I love the smell. I love the look. I love the taste. OH! How I love the taste.

IMG_2825 - raspberry thumbprint cookie

RASPBERRY THUMBPRINT COOKIES

Tweaked From The Original: Sally’s Baking Addiction

WHY IT TASTES DELISH

1 c. butter, softened
2/3 c. white sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. almond extract
2 c. + 2 Tbsp. flour

Raspberry jam

Recipe for Perfect Vanilla Icing

HOW TO MAKE IT TASTE DELISH

1. For the cookies, beat the butter and sugar together until blended. Add the extracts and flour and stir until moist. Store in a container in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

2. When refrigerated long enough, drop tablespoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. Indent each dough ball with your finger and put a little bit of jam into each hole. There should be enough jam to fill the indent.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 – 15 minutes, depending on how soft you want your cookie. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

4. Once cool, glaze the cookies with Perfect Vanilla Frosting, if desired.

5. LOVE THEM. EAT THEM. LOVE THEM. EAT THEM. LOVE THEM. LOVE THEM. LOVE THEM.

EAT THEM.

LOVE THEM.

One thought on “raspberry thumbprint cookies

  1. I’ve never made these cookies but I have eaten them. I agree with you that they are delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I definitely will make them.

    Like

leave some love!

