Tradition: Decorating Cookies

I know this is late. Okay, I have to admit it. I am terrible at keeping my post up-to-date with the season. You’re receiving Christmas ideas and notes and such a month later. Well, almost.

I’m getting off track. Let’s try this again: I know this post is late, but I still want to share it with you! Otherwise I wouldn’t be posting it.

ANYWAYS, I love decorating cookies. It’s been tradition to do it in our family every year right before Christmas. I wish we did it more. In fact, you could. New year cookies. Winter cookies. Valentine cookies. Bring it on! Just don’t throw the sprinkles.

First, we lay out a long piece of wax paper on the table, like you would do a table runner. No, don’t worry; this isn’t going to stay put long.

Everyone gets handed bowls of frosting and knives for spreading.

IMG_2867 - decorating christmas cookies

Now sprinkles and the unfrosted cookies are set on the table.

IMG_2877 - decorating christmas cookies

Let everyone have at it!

IMG_2881 - decorating christmas cookies

It’s fun to watch the difference between the little kids’ cookies . . .

IMG_2880 - decorating christmas cookies

. . . and the big kids’ cookies.

IMG_2893 - decorating christmas cookies

Before you know it, you’ll have more cookies than you intended to swallow. And a mess . . . not to swallow, but to clean. Have fun!

IMG_2904 - decorating christmas cookies

leave some love!

