The Thanksgiving Menu

What did you all eat for Thanksgiving? We had more than our tummies could stuff. But no stuffing. I don’t really mind. No one’s that big of a fan of it around here anyways. I just love the gravy. Oh, and the potatoes, especially the sweet potatoes. And the cranberry jelly. And the ham and turkey, of course.

The Main Meal:

First was the ham and turkey. The turkey was not one of our turkeys (Hehe. We don’t have any.), but the ham was! I mean, the ham wasn’t one of our turkeys. The ham was from our pigs… which are no longer pigs. They’re now either bacon, or pork chops, or sausage, or pork. Yep, that’s what they are: pork. I am so happy that we have all of this settled. And that there are no ham-filled turkeys flying around.

      IMG_2333 - Ham

And then there’s the mashed potatoes. Because how can you have a Thanksgiving meal without mashed potatoes? And piles of butter? Ahh… I love potatoes. Lemme repeat: I love potatoes. I don’t think I have this clear enough; I LOVE POTATOES!!! Is it clear now? Quite clear? Good.

IMG_2327 - Potatoes side

Along in the potato gallery, we have the sweet potatoes. If there was one food I must have before I die, it’s sweet potatoes. I can’t quite decide, though, whether or not I want a crumb topping or marshmallows on top. What do you think? This requires much thought, especially if it’s going to be on the menu for my last meal. This is a very depressing subject.

IMG_2338 - Sweet Potatoes and Spoon

If there’s has to be something healthy at the Thanksgiving meal, you have to have a salad. Not just any salad. No! You must have this salad. THIS salad is a delectable poppy seed salad with homemade dressing. It’s worth giving up four years of Pinterest for. Well… Maybe not quite. Who else out there is a Pinterest fanatic? Gosh! It’s like a time warp when you go on there. I hate time warps.

For the recipe, click here.

IMG_2334 - Poppyseed Salad Side

These dinner rolls are amazing. They’re sweet and soft and butter-y and so perfectly Thanksgiving-ly. I love the clover shape. Make a four-“leaf” roll and give it to some lucky person; that is, only if you believe in luck. I’m not one of those “lucky” people. I don’t go knocking on wood, wearing lucky charms, and every other superstition out there. Just watch out for that black cat!

IMG_2289 - Rolls Close Up

We also had the snack-y foods. One of ’em was this salsa, also known as Texas Caviar. It’s easy to make, and so insanely good all at the same time. Careful; put a bag of chips and a bowl of this stuff before your eyes while you’re baking some cookies, you’ll find the entire bowl licked clean and not a crumb left of chips. Some things are just that good.

IMG_2294 - Texas Caviar and Chip

Next we have these delish ham and pickle, cream cheese roll ups. They’re a topped upon a Ritz cracker for the perfect creamy, crunchy, and buttery zing for your taste buds. You’ll literally hear your taste buds sing the zing. I did not mean to rhyme.

IMG_2297 - Ham Roll Close

We also had other food. I just didn’t bother to take a picture of some of them. You know; the canned cranberry jelly, the gravy, and olives in a fancy platter. Didn’t take too much prep to put those yummies on the table. Not that I think they’re bad or anything. Simple is often best. But this subject is way too simple… and boring. That’s why we’ll see…

… the desserts! Yay! Yay! YAY! I love desserts! I love desserts! I love desserts! I love desserts!

Can’t you just hear that chanting? I can. It’s just so musical. That’s how I feel about words: they’re powerful. But we’re not talking about singing words right now, we’re talking about desserts. We had much desserts. Friends brought lemon bars and pudding cake. My mom made the best raspberry pretzel dessert ever. It was so good I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of it. I literally walked down the hall to get the camera and came back to a clean dish. It was gone. Not a crumb left. LITERALLY!

I did get a picture of the pumpkin pie… barely. They were beautiful, my two pumpkin pies (No, I’m not referring to you.), until one-year-old Tommy came up and dug his hands into one. I was near tears. I rocked the injured pie to sleep that night. He was in so much pain, the poor pie! Oh! The drama! Drama!

IMG_2281 - Pumpkin Pies Background

My mom also made a big thing of raspberry mousse. Seriously, this stuff is amazing! It’ll knock your socks off and make your hair stick up straight. The entire bowl wasn’t enough for the many fans in our family. I love raspberries + mousse.

IMG_2331 - Raspberry Pouding and Spoon

So what did you do for Thanksgiving? What are your traditions? What were (and hopefully still are!) you thankful for this year?

Happy (belated) Thanksgiving, everyone!

XOXO Janie

One thought on “The Thanksgiving Menu

  1. Sounds like you had a delicious Thanksgiving Dinner! I enjoyed seeing all the pictures of the wonderful food. We also had a delicious dinner. We had turkey like you did but we didn’t have ham. We also stuffed our turkey with delicious stuffing. It was sooooo good. We had meat pie, raspberry mouse, wonderful mashed potatoes, corn casserole, sweet potato casserole, cranberry relish & buns. For dessert we had pumpkin pie & pumpkin roll. What a great Thanksgiving we enjoyed. Thanks for sharing your dinner.

    Like

leave some love!

